Federal Firearms License

Federal Firearms License

The Federal Firearms License (FFL) is a license acquired through the Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms Bureau that allows a person or a company to become licensed to manufacture firearms and ammunition. This license is also required for the sale of firearms either in-state or across state lines. The FFL has been required for manufacturers and resellers in the United States since the Gun Control Act was enacted in 1968.

federal firearms license

Click Image For More On The Federal Firearms License

There are eleven different types of FFL depending on the type of business the firearms manufacturer or dealer is in. Each one has its own classifications and restrictions. There is an entirely different FFL for people who are collectors of firearms. Collectors must be dealing with relics and these are defined as firearms that are fifty years old or older. These guns are considered C&O (Curio and Relic) that are re-purposed and altered are no longer FFL exempt.

Antique guns are classified as anything made before 1898 and can be bought and sold across state lines without a Federal Firearms License. The one exception to this law is short-barreled shotguns, short-barreled rifles and machine guns. These guns are actually regulated under the National Firearms Act of 1934. No matter what alterations are made to an antique gun, they are always going to carry their antique status. http://federalfirearmslicenseffl.com

There are specific records that are required for the Federal Firearms License. All people who hold a FFL are required to keep logs of their firearms in an ATF Bureau approved Bound Book or software approved by the ATF.

To acquire an FFL, a person must be at least twenty one years old, not have any restrictions placed on them for handling or owning a firearm, has no violations of the Gun Control Act, has not misrepresented,  lied or omitted information, and has a location for business. There are also fees associated with the application of a Federal Firearms License. These fees are going to depend on what your role is in the manufacturing or dealing of firearms.

There are also special taxes associated with a Federal Firearms License. There are six classes of taxes. These are going to depend on you role in the manufacturing and dealing process as well as whether you are adhering to the FFL or the NFA.

Visit http://federal-firearms-license.net/ for more information about the FFL License.

Knowing the laws associated with firearm manufacturing, dealing and selling are strict and it is important to know the law and comply.

Comments are closed.